Learning To Love My Hair: #3 Expectations

Dear Lovelies,

Today marks my two year anniversary of going natural! What better way to celebrate than to share with you another key element that I have learned on this journey:

Sometimes, you won’t meet up to your expectations.

Sometimes it’s hard to be patient. It’s hard so look at some natural hair YouTubers and see how they managed to grow 4 inches in 6 months whilst your hair has remained exactly the same. Everyone’s hair is different so there is no use trying to compare yours to others.

What you truly have to remember is that most natural hair influences only post about the positives of their hair, rather than the actual difficulties. For example, how you might have to change your own diet and improve yourself internally in order to stimulate hair growth.

In these two years, my hair has perhaps only grown 4 inches in length, however, there are a lot of other improvements that I have seen with my hair. It has gotten thicker, my curl pattern is a lot more tight (which means more shrinkage, but hey, it looks a lot healthier!), and I have learned what products suit my hair in order to maintain moisture.

Sometimes, when I look at YouTube channels, I wonder why my hair is not growing as fast, or why the results of a twist out wasn’t the exact same way as other natural influencers. It made me wonder if there are more people out there like me, who are struggling to find someone with their curl pattern and length.

But then I realised that everyone is different. You won’t truly be able to find someone exactly like your hair because your hair is unique to you, and you have to find what works.

I hope that I have helped you understand the meaning of healthy hair because contrary to what most think (and what most influencers show), natural hair growth is not just about the length.

Loren X

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started